Your Candidates

CONTENTS:

Riky Ash statement Paul W Fleming statement Voting Instructions

VOTING DEADLINE:

FRIDAY 2 MAY 2025 (12 NOON)



EQUITY ELECTION 2025

General Secretary



Riky Ash

Equity Isn't Working!

Members should be put first with equal treatment for everyone, including variety.

Staff retention is at an all time low because employees are no longer valued.

The Equity magazine needs reinstating, showing Equity at its best - with four copies each year.

I am a Stuntman, Stunt Co-ordinator and Actor, having started in variety as a Country and Western singer.

I have worked with members from all parts of the union, actors, actresses, dancers, singers, directors and designers since 1993.

2006-2012 Equity Council Stunt Councillor, got results that benefitted EVERY Equity member.

Equity NEEDS to be run by an experienced working member who understands the problems ALL Equity members face.

The Equity Stunt Register has not existed since 2017 which has dangerously increased the number of people who can do stunts, qualified or not. Your life could now potentially be in danger on many sets and stages. The accident and incident rate is appalling. Stunt work must be back under the control of Equity for the safety of all members.

Working with my background with all the union's members and staff, we can achieve great success. I have been where you are and can see the performance world from everyone's perspective, and from my work as a Stuntman and Stunt Coordinator.

One of the most successful Stuntmen in the world with over 700 professional credits.

I MAKE THINGS HAPPEN!

I have achieved positive results in my work and will do so as your General Secretary.

Nominated by 50 members:

Sally Treble	John Davis	Eva Lorraine	Chris Barltrop	Steen Young
David Cockayne	June Ascot	Nicky Diprose	John B Tannen	Osho Dhudwar
Terry Victor	Brian Sefton	Stuart St Paul	Roger Martin	Barry Morrow
Bob Oakley	Aaron Wolstenholme	Honra Simms	Rupert Procter	Matthew Da Silva
Christopher Batten	Nikki Leonard	Gillian Aldam	Nrinder Dhudwar	Tom Lucy
Andrew Bradford	Jack Graeme	Yvonne Joseph	Julia Pascal	Matthew Stirling
Denis Askham	Peter Kosta	Samir Durrani	Carter Ferguson	Freddie Belmont
Stevie Jones	Jonathan Paul Cohen	Steve Caswell	David Garrick	Billy Davey
Julia Clarke	Nick Golden	Glenn Marks	Susannah Levene	Crystal
Peter Chivers	Andy Storm	Pete Smith	Adam Richards	Olwen Medi

General Secretary



Paul W Fleming

Groundbreaking negotiations in TV and film; the Stand Up for 17% campaign in the West End; independent theatre pay outstripping a decade of inflation; High Court action against Spotlight; Equity agreements for the biggest pantomime producers; surpassing £100 million in royalty distributions; tripling agreements in Scotland and Northern Ireland; industrial fightback across opera; an unprecedented members insurance package.

Equity's membership is higher than ever.

These wins happened during my first term, but belong to Equity's members and activists. I'm proud to be nominated by Equity Council, a majority of committee chairs, across the professions we represent and the whole country- aged 19 to 90.

As General Secretary I've focussed resources on members' priorities: doubling our offices outside London, recruiting new dedicated staff for audio, streaming, singers, dance, and variety. Our communications are beautiful and have record reach. Our conferences are the best attended and most representative ever.

In a second term, I'll build on this record. Theatre pay must surpass pre-pandemic levels. TV, film, and audio agreements for actors, supporting artists, and stunt members must regulate Al and work for the age of streaming. TV commercials negotiations, restarted after 30 years, must deliver an agreement. Equity must fight drama school audition fees, and tackle endemic venue closures caused by government inaction and greedy developers.

I've always stood with members to build a pragmatic union with a radical vision. If you re-elect me, I'll fight as hard as ever for the industry, and society, Equity members deserve.

Social media: @paulwfleming

paulwfleming.com

Nominated by Equity Council and 50 members:

Lynda Rooke	Olivia Colman	Rakie Ayola	Hayley Atwell	Naomie Harris
Jackie Clune	Julie Hesmondhalgh	Sam Swann	Ian Barritt	Paul Herbert
Nick Fletcher	Maxine Peake	Simon Pegg	Graham Hamilton	Ronald Nairne
David John	Tracy Brabin	Leila Mimmack	Laurence Bouvard	Red Sarah
Alan Davies	Melanie La Barrie	Marcus Hutton	Chipo Chung	Rebecca Louis
Judi Dench	Carl Man	Alan Turkington	Joshua Bendall	Yukiko Masui
Adrian Lester	Natasha Leaver	Mais Robinson	Sophia Horrocks	Gareth Mole
Imelda Staunton	Vivien Parry	Benjamin Finch	Ben Delfont	Zoe Spurr
Ruby Turner	Ben Irish	Natalie Amber	Tony Gardner	Charlotte Emma
Johnny Worthy	Tanya Moodie	Daniel York Loh	Juliet Stevenson	Samuel West

EQUITY ELECTION 2025

General Secretary

Voting Instructions

VOTING IS BY POST ONLY

By Post

- Tear off your ballot paper and follow the instructions on how to vote.
- Put your completed ballot paper into the pre-paid return envelope and seal it.

Make sure you post it so it arrives by FRIDAY 2 MAY 2025 (12 NOON).



PLEASE NOTE

- This is a secret ballot. Equity has no access to your ballot paper or to information on how or whether you
 voted. Ballot papers returned to Equity instead of to UK Engage will not be included in the count.
- Equity and UK Engage have made every effort to ensure that the candidates' election statements have been reproduced exactly as they were submitted; this includes any grammatical and/or spelling errors.
 The views expressed are those of the candidates and do not necessarily reflect those of Equity or of UK Engage.